HISTORY

History

Kintore Golf Club lies in a picturesque setting in the Ancient Burgh of Kintore. The Club was founded in 1911.

The course, originally 9 holes, was owned by a local landowner and leased through the existing Burgh Council. The original driver used by J E Sutherland MP on 10th September 1911 to open the club, is displayed in the clubhouse.

In 1975 the Club purchased the course and began a programme of improvement and development. In 1981 the original corrugated iron clubhouse was replaced by a modern Clubhouse which was further extended in 1995 to its present form providing a lounge and dining room that overlooks the challenging 1st hole.

In 1988 the Club purchased additional land at Balbithan, to the North of the existing course, and began the construction of an additional 9 holes. The new 18 hole course opened in 1991.

The area is surrounded by Forestry plantations which provide a superb backdrop to many of the holes and shelter them from wind. Several thousand new trees were also planted which now further enhance the layout.

The course also benefits from excellent natural drainage which, aided by on-going drainage improvements, leads to very few days of lost play throughout the year.

The course overlooks the River Don and provides spectacular views over the Don Valley to Bennachie and the distant Grampian Mountains. Kintore Golf Club remains committed to keeping the character and standard of the course to provide a quality and enjoyable golfing experience.

Contact

ALL CORRESPONDENCE

Kintore Golf Club
Balbithan, Kintore
Aberdeenshire
AB51 0UR
Tel: 01467 632631

ADMIN OFFICE & OUTING ENQUIRIES

Tel: +44 (0)1467 632631 ext.23
e-mail: kintoregolfclub@lineone.net

TEE BOOKINGS

Tel: +44 (0)1467 632631 ext.21

Useful Links

Scottish Golf Union North East
Scottish Golf
North East Golf Draws
R&A
Kirkwood Golf News
European Tour
Thainstone House Hotel